Dragonica looks fun

Today I came across a post about Dragonica, a game I hadn’t heard of before.  I wasn’t initially too interested, but being a lazy Sunday I decided to do a quick google search on it and find a bit more info.  I’m glad I did, this game seems it may be quite fun =)

secret-of-manaIf anyone remembers way back in the old days, before the Internet took over our lives, we used to actually visit our friends houses to play games.  And in those times, when Super Nintendo ruled the world, Secret of Mana was an awesome game to have a few people over for.  It was a fairly straight-forward RPG, but with a very action-oriented combat system, rather unheard of back then.  And it was multiplayer, allowing up to 3 people to hack and slash together and adventure through the story.

I had such fond memories of Secret of Mana that after Super Nintendo’s time had passed I once tried setting up an SNES Emulator on my PC, grabbed the japanese sequel and an english patch and hoped to get a few friends to come play.  But alas, the Internet is here now, and few people will be up for abandoning a 3D MMO to come play a 16bit 2D scrolling game through an emulator at a friend’s house..

Which is why Dragonica makes me excited =)  This game reminds me a good deal of Secret of Mana.  It has the same action combat feel to it, where you can play with your friends and progress through a story.  It even has a similar graphics style.  Curious to see how this game actually plays?  Check out their trailor:

Dragonica will be free to play and is currently in beta.  I couldn’t find any estimation of a release date, but when it arrives I think I shall definitely have to give this a shot =)

2 thoughts on “Dragonica looks fun

  1. its 2 companies who run the dragonica its iahgames which runs the game worldwide and its gpotato which run the game only on europe.Now its iahgames Close beta.CBT started 7th and finish 17th mayrelease date it will be after the Open beta or maybe they will release it after CBT directly im not sure though

  2. Woh, woh, woh. Hold on. There was a sequel to Secret of Mana? I must go get it now. Holy crap. That is in my top 10 (maybe 5) all time favorite video games. Secret of Evermore was really good, and it was the same gameplay and all that, only it was just you and a dog instead of you, a sprite, and whatever that other chick was. Oh man, you just made my day.

Leave a Reply

