Warhammers “Endgame” is terrible

Boredom critically hits Nazgum for 9000.

Boredom critically hits Nazgum for 9000.

I haven’t been able to play WAR much recently.  Not due to real life issues, but because Destruction has Altdorf on farm status for the past two weeks.  Four times that I’ve tried to login since Thursday we have been attacking Altdorf.  When Altdorf is under siege everything else is locked down so you either participate or log off..

My goblin has perhaps gone mad, thinking Destruction must be his true enemy, conspiring against him, using the most powerful yet least awe-inspiring force in any MMO universe… boredom!  I detest city sieges.  I think they are terrible.  I dislike instances, and an instance where you have to repeat the same public quest over and over for 2 hours just feels awful to take part in.

I thought myself unfortunate to find Destruction continually sieging Altdorf and failing, preventing me from skirmishing in the RvR lakes for those two hours, which is the part of Warhammer I find most fun.  Yet, apparently there is an even worse fate awaiting..

Should one side actually capture a city, all of RvR gets locked down.  All scenarios closed, all RvR lakes locked, no keeps, bos or zones available for capture anywhere.  Locked down!  So how long does this lock down last for?  According to this thread containing some rather upset Dark Crag players its 16 hours!

I enjoy skirmishing in Warhammer when its possible, but when the endgame gets triggered that gets taken away.  Its either participate or leave, so I usually leave.  Currently its a relatively small period of 2 hours, and though I usually only play for an hour or two each day, I managed to hit that window 4 times in the last 6 days.  If destruction keeps Altdorf on farm status, and there appears little reason to think otherwise, and starts actually capturing the city, that 2 hour unplayable window may go to 16 hours.  At which point it appears there would be little use in me attempting to login.

Fortunately, there is a little hope provided by Producer Jeff Skalski, who responds in the Dark Crag thread I linked above:

Sorry for the late reply on this and being MIA on the forums lately.
Just been a little swamped with Tomb Kings and just got back from being
out of the office for two weeks.  So, I want to let everyone here know
we are actively working on a plan to resolve this RvR endgame concern.
I just asked the RvR Strike Team Lead to put up a post today listing
out what we are currently discussing for City Siege improvements to our
Core Testers.  (so keep an eye out for any Core Testers reading this)
For those who are not Core testers I’m not going to leave you
completely hanging.  Our goals for what we are proposing to do is to
make sure there is never a moment in the the game where no RvR combat
exist.  As we firm up the details we’ll get them posted to the public,
but please keep posting suggestions on how you would like to see the
city sieges improved.

City sieges improved?  How about removed 😉

6 thoughts on “Warhammers “Endgame” is terrible

  1. Thank-you for posting this. I should be over joyed to see the triumph of our realm, but lately I share the same disappointed feeling when I log in to see everything locked down. I know others feel the same, as I see logoff message after logoff message as the game proceeds to Altdorf. And, having been on the receiving end of frequent City sieges on Ostermark, I know that its a terrible feeling for Order on Phoenix Throne, and very possibly affecting subscription numbers. The endgame is disappointing, but even more so when its your City that you must protect (but at least tokens are distributed to all.) Good thing that I am stubborn (or have alts), or I might find myself logging out as well. I am excited that they're considering a way to retain RvR for those who do not want to participate (or can't, for one reason or another.) Further, I'd like to see additional ideal skirmish locations. My current favourites are Praag and Chaos Wastes. Chaos Wastes is a rare sight these days, and its difficult to get 1:1, 1:2, 2:1, 2:2 fights. So many of us looking for that small fight atmosphere, and the rvr lakes are so narrow, that we onsies/twosies end up converging into an unintentional party of 12, or get rolled by 12. Sometimes, an orc just needs some space… 🙂

  2. What about making a zone "artificially" contested, i.e. talk with the others on forums about making a zone a rvr-meeting-zone for fun-fights. This could enable small fights with all those who don't want to make that city stuff. It does not provide points for zone locking, but you'll have the possibility to fight players not PQ bosses.I think you are not alone when you complain about City sieges, Nazgum. Gather the others and..kill them afterwards. 😉

  3. Nice post Nazgum. I agree with you 100% I even saw a destro member begging to allow order to take Praag last night because he felt bad for them. Being farm was no fun on Ostermark so I feel Order's pain.I feel your pain also; I was very disappointed to find everything locked down when I logged in last night. Luckily the lock down did not last too long after I logged in.

  4. Hiya, im accually enjoying endgame atm. not the raids and zergfests cause my comp cant handle those to well, but over all rvr fun =)But a quick offtopic question for you mate: Im trying out a spec now with mork up to DSU, da green to gorks barbs, and rest in gork with only big waagh picked as skill… Have you tried it out?i notice i do aroudn 50 hp less on each tick with BoW, but the healing debuff is awesome for killing those pesky healers! =) With your RR you should be able to maintain even more damage from gorktree and still get barbs i guess…

  5. Hiya, im accually enjoying endgame atm. not the raids and zergfests cause my comp cant handle those to well, but over all rvr fun =)But a quick offtopic question for you mate: Im trying out a spec now with mork up to DSU, da green to gorks barbs, and rest in gork with only big waagh picked as skill… Have you tried it out?i notice i do aroudn 50 hp less on each tick with BoW, but the healing debuff is awesome for killing those pesky healers! =) With your RR you should be able to maintain even more damage from gorktree and still get barbs i guess…

Leave a Reply

